Asked anonymously · 6 months ago
Personal Injury LawHampton, Virginia, USA
I gave a recorded statement to insurance. Should I have done that without a lawyer?
For general information only. Do not include names or identifying details.
1 verified lawyer answer

Samantha B. Cohn
Written answer
Brain Injury · Hampton, Virginia, USA · Answered 6 months ago
Typically insurance companies require you to give a recorded statement after an accident happens. While giving such statement without an attorney or their guidance can be harmful or detrimental, it’s not necessarily fatal to your claim. Insurance companies, whether your own or that of the individual that caused the accident, are not your friend and will definitely use what you say against you if given the opportunity. It’s important to consult an attorney as soon as possible after an accident to make sure all of your interests are protected, particularly when giving statements to insurance companies.
Continue the conversation
Have a follow-up question or something to add? Join the public discussion.
Verify your email to participate. Your email is never shown publicly.
Lawyer?
Sign in to replyAre you a Hampton, Virginia, USA Personal Injury Law lawyer?
Sign in or join Lawggle to answer this question. Only verified lawyers can publish answers.